Raspberry PiGeneral

About RS485 Wind Direction Transmitter

userHead kksp12y 2023-02-01 22:38:00 178 Views2 Replies

Hello, I'm an undergraduate student who encountered an error while running the sensor. 

I referred to "https://wiki.dfrobot.com/RS485_Wind_Direction_Transmitter_SKU_SEN0482" and copied it perfectly.
However, "Segmentation fault" is output.

This picture shows the wind and RS485 in use.

This is a picture of the wiring of the RS485

I used the code without changing anything.

This is the link that contains the code.

https://github.com/DFRobotdl/RS485_Wind_Direction_Transmitter

The GCC version is 8.4.0.
Segment fault has once been executed without being displayed.
This was done by running 1000 times in a row.
But it's not good news.
Wind Direction: [null] appears until the wind gauge moves.

When the wind gauge moves, Segment fault appears immediately and the code ends.

Please give me a solution.

2023-02-20 14:34:51

A "Segmentation fault" error typically occurs when a program attempts to access a memory location that it is not allowed to 

A "Segmentation fault" error typically occurs when a program attempts to access a memory location that it is not allowed to access. 

To troubleshoot the issue, you can try the following steps:

Check the wiring: Verify that the wiring is correct by double-checking the pin connections of the sensor with your circuit board.

Check the serial communication settings: Verify that the serial communication settings (baud rate, parity, and stop bits) are correctly set in the code.

Debug the code: Try to identify any potential issues in the code that could be causing the segmentation fault error. You can use a debugger or add print statements in the code to narrow down the issue.

Try a different sensor: If none of the above steps work, you can try a different sensor to see if the issue persists. If it does not, it could indicate that there is a problem with the original sensor.

userHeadPic bidrohini.bidrohini