UNIHIKERHow to select

PyCharm IDE Support on UNIHIKER

userHead Matha.Goram 2024-08-01 21:58:53 2307 Views4 Replies

Hello!

Posting for the first time. I am a total newbie at this.

While I await delivery of one UNIHIKER, I am preparing for ramp up exercises. Glad that Jupyter is supported out-of-the box. This little things are very thoughtful design considerations to speed up our productivity.

Has anyone used PyCharm IDE successfully to perform development work? Any tips, please. Thanks.

Regards.

2024-08-13 23:14:33

@Matha.Goram … I use Professional since years (it's worth to buy it in case of Python) and don't know so much about the difference to free version. But I assume you're right.

userHeadPic Lupin
2024-08-02 20:35:16

I use PyCharm for development on UNIHIKER (mostly every time) and will try to guide you. Important: If you decide for same you need to ensure that UNIHIKER is connected via USB and connected before you start PyCharm! I will describe from scratch - after you have done the following steps, just open your PyCharm project.

Create a new Project

Press button “New Project” and in next window provide a Name, Location, select Interpreter type (Project venv) and select a Python version. Note: The local Python version can be much higher as Python version on UNIHIKER. If you are done, press button “Create”.

Setup Remote Python

Open “Settings” and select under category “Tools” → “SSH Configurations”. Now add a new configuration. Insert the ip address of UNIHIKER in field Host (10.1.2.3). Insert the Port: 22 and Username “root”. Now select Authentication type. If you use Password, insert “dfrobot”. If you have on UNIHIKER already added you public key in the file “authorized_keys”, you can choose for example “OpenSSH config and authentication agent”. Now press button “Test Connection”. If this was successful, more than the half of work is already done.