ArduinoGeneral

DFPlayer Noisy When Starting

userHead Account cancelled 2017-10-28 12:32:09 9909 Views7 Replies
It's my first time using one of the DFPlayer Mini modules and I'm having a problem when it first powers on. There is a very loud noise for a few seconds. Afterwards it works perfectly.

It's wired according to the example schematic including the resistors on the RX/TX connections and controlled by a Arduino Nano. The setup portion of the code is a direct copy and paste of the example code, only the pin numbers have been changed.

I can tell by the LED's that code wise it's occurring before the loop part of the code executes.

I recorded a short video of the sound. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=8GxX50Si3_M
2019-06-19 22:09:26 Solution from adolfhack works for me.. i put 120 ohm resistor in dfplayer speaker out (dfplayer pin 6)... very very thanks for your solution. userHeadPic renstanford
2018-02-10 02:24:05 I found it I think. I put 1k resistors between the nano and the player. no noise... hmm...

Update: 2 hours later. So the noise using the speaker out on the player is totally gone. that's awesome. But using the DAC output to feed an amp (ebay special PAM8403), it's back. it's only audible during playback, and is not noticeable at high volume playback. I think it's the player, since after it started playing I disconnected power from the Nano, so no signals to it at all. It's the only device powered (except the amp.)

I tried larger values on the resistors, but it didn't seem to help. I'll let you all know if I figure it out.
userHeadPic jhopper.doc
2018-02-10 01:36:05 I tried this and it didn't help. I tried pulling pin1 of the 8002 to ground directly, using the resister jumper, and even go vcc (yah, I know that shuts it down.)